Selling, Distributing, or Possession With Intent to Distribute CDS in Piscataway
If you were arrested for distributing cocaine, heroin, marijuana or another drug in Piscataway, hiring an experienced criminal lawyer is an absolute must. Being found guilty of selling CDS will not only subject you to extreme penalties but also the possibility of a record that can affect you for the rest of your life. New Jersey law imposes significant restrictions on removal (i.e. expungement) of drug distribution convictions so you stand the very real possibility of not only going to prison and paying thousands of dollars in fines, but also having this crime on your record forever. A distribution charge clearly is not something to be defended without the benefit of a skilled defense attorney. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall we can offer you the services of one of the largest criminal firms in the state with several former prosecutors on staff. Our Piscataway Township Office is available to assist you 24/7 at 732-562-0308 and initial consultations are free.
Hire An Experienced Piscataway Township Drug Distribution Attorney
There are few offenses in New Jersey that have the potential to be as serious as a drug distribution charge. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5 (“Manufacturing, Distributing or Dispensing”) imposes serious consequences for those who manufacture, distribute, dispense, or possess with intent to distribute controlled dangerous substances in Piscataway Township NJ like heroin, prescription pain medication, MDMA (a.k.a. Molly, Ecstasy). cocaine or even marijuana. And when the conduct occurs in a school zone in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7 (e.g. within 1,000 feet of Piscataway High School) or in a public park contrary to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7.1 (e.g. within 500 feet of Johnson Park), the penalties to which you are exposed get far worse. In terms of a 2C:35-5, the offense can come in the form of a first degree, second degree, third degree crime depending on the quantity involved in the distribution charge or indictment. The only time a charge for selling drugs can result in a less offense, namely a fourth degree crime, is where the violation involves distribution of less than one (1) ounce of marijuana. Otherwise, all cases under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5 fall within the felony grading as a first, second or third degree.
Former Prosecutors Ready To Fight Your Piscataway Charge
The penalties you face for distributing CDS are most severe if you have been charged with a first degree crime. The maximum fine is $500,000 and you can be sentenced to 20 years in prison. For a Piscataway second degree drug distribution offense you face a $150,000 fine and 10 years in jail. If you distribute and are found guilty of a third degree crime, you face the possibility of a $75,000 fine and 5 years in prison. Fourth degree distribution offense can result in 18 months in prison and a $10,000 fine. In addition to these penalties, an individual convicted of violating 2C:35-5 is subject to a mandatory driver’s license suspension of 6-24 months.
An additional charge arises where, as stated, these activities occur in a school zone or in a public park. The biggest consequence of a conviction under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-7 or 2C:35-7.1 is the imposition of a mandatory minimum term of incarceration. When either of these statutes apply, an individual must serve a specified term of incarceration before they are eligible for parole.
To speak to an attorney at our firm free of charge, call our Piscataway Office at 732-562-0308.